top of page

About Poland



Poland lies in the very center of Europe and borders with seven countries: Russia, Lithuania, Belarus, Ukraine, Slovakia, the Czech Republic and Germany. The northern border runs along the coast of the Baltic Sea.

In terms of area, Poland ranks 70th in the world and 9th in Europe. The country lies in the Central European CET time zone (UTC + 01:00). From March to October, the so-called CEST summer time (UTC + 02:00).

In Poland, there is a three-level territorial division, and its units are voivodships (16), poviats (379) and communes (2 479). The voivode is the government representative in the voivodship.




Poles are the 34th largest nation in the world. Most Poles live in cities with 908 in Poland. The most numerous Polish cities are: Warsaw (nearly 2 million inhabitants), Kraków and Łódź (over 700,000), Wrocław (over 600,000) and Poznań (over 500,000) .).

Poland is a country that is relatively uniform in ethnic and religious terms. The largest national minorities are Germany, Ukrainians, Russians, and Roma.






Poland is a relatively cheap country - food, public transport and accommodation are cheaper than in Western Europe. Currency exchanges can be made at numerous exchange offices or banks. Polish banks are open from Monday to Friday, while seven shops a week some shops are open.

In Poland, debit and credit cards are accepted - Visa and MasterCard, partly also American Express, Diners Club and JCB. Money transfers can be made in the country, also via Western Union, and foreign checks.




Berlin - 1.5 hours

Stockholm - 1.5 hours

Oslo - 1.5 hours

Amsterdam - 2 hours

Moscow - 2 hours

London - 2.5 hours

Paris - 2.5 hours

Rome - 2.5 hours

Madrid - 3.5 hours

New York - 8.5 hours

Seoul - 10 hours

Bangkok - 1 hour

Los Angeles - 11 hours

Tokyo - 11.5 hours

Mumbai - 16 hours

bottom of page